After a few weeks of giving the new resto talents a good once over in our raids and from some excellent information from our friends over at Elitist Jerks, I have decided to give a new talent build a try.

Currently I am running the ever exciting 61 point resto talent build that can be found here 0/0/61.

Now, based on my personal experience and some interesting mathematical theory based on spell crit and lesser healing wave I have decided upon this build 0/10/51.

Here is the summary of the changes:

Dropped:

Healing Grace – Tanks and DPS are generating so much threat, I barely make a scratch on the agro meter, so for the first time as a Resto Shaman, this talent is going bye bye.

Healing Way – This was the talent that got axed cause I needed three more points =(

Cleanse Spirit/Natures Swiftness (still undecided actually) – One of these will have to go.  I like the “Oh shit” button but I also like being able to de-curse.  If it comes down to which one I use more, NS will be gone…well at least till I hit 71.

Ancestral Awakening – I have been under whelmed with this talent.  It is nice to have that extra heal but I am not really sure how needed it will be.  For now I will be dropping it and see how my ability to raid heal is impacted…if at all.

Talents Added:

Ancestral knowledge – The added intelligence is nice and this is the only good tier one enhancement talent for resto shaman.

Thundering Strike – This will add another 5% crit to the healing spells that stacks with the new healing model of crit stacking and lesser healing way with the LHW glyph.

This build is designed to get the most talent based spell crit (14%); this, along with the lesser healing way glyph/earth shield seems to makes the shaman a perfect tank healer with big fast heals without seriously impacting our ability to raid heal.

For the full run down, please go see Elitist Jerks discussion on the WotLK talents for all the math and theory.  I plan on reporting my finding in the next week or so after some raid testing.